It’s fashionable to … help other women in business

Building a business and a following takes lots of baby steps. One rule is not to spend a ton of money on marketing and advertising when you’re trying to just get your project off the ground. This is where the relationships and connections you’ve made along the way will become priceless.

I’ve always been an outgoing person. I enjoy learning about what’s new in people’s lives — especially women. (Sorry fellas: You already have a leg up in the world.) And a conversation I had with my friend Toni proved why it pays to surround yourself with smart and positive women.

At the same time I was launching my new party business, she was in the throes of putting content on her Web site www.rsvptoni.com, which features invitations, favors, etc. A lightbulb! I needed invitations for my parties so I became one of her customers. In turn, she offered to do fabulous calligraphy on the envelopes, and her Web address was unobtrusively printed on the back of the envelopes.

Voila! Guests would receive classy, standout invites from me (say no to postcard invitations!), while Toni found an inexpensive way to market her business. Now, how cool is that?!

Helping out your girlfriends will never go out of style!

Share

Leave a Reply

